Meeting to be held on 16 July 2013

Electoral Division affected: None

# Appointment of Chair and Deputy Chair, Membership, Terms of Reference and Programme of Meetings

(Appendix 'A' refers)

Contact for further information: Katrina Dale, Office of the Chief Executive, 01772 533651, <u>katrina.dale@lancashire.gov.uk</u>

## **Executive Summary and Recommendation**

The Committee is asked to note:

- i. The appointment by the full Council on 23 May 2013 of County Councillor Cynthia Dereli as Chair of the Committee and the appointment by the Urgency Committee on 24 May 2013 of County Councillor Mrs Susie Charles as Deputy Chair of the Committee, for the remainder of the municipal year.
- ii. The membership of the Committee following the County Council's Annual Meeting on 23 May 2013.
- iii. The Terms of Reference of the Committee
- iv. The agreed Programme of Meetings for 2013 2014

### **Background and Advice**

The Full Council at its Annual Meeting on 23 May 2013 appointed CC Cynthia Dereli as Chair of the Committee, and the Urgency Committee on 24 May 2013 appointed County Councillor Mrs Susie Charles as Deputy Chair of the Committee, for the remainder of the 2013/14 municipal year.

The Full Council also agreed that the Committee shall comprise 13 County Councillors (on the basis of 6 Labour members, 1 Liberal Democrat member, 5 Conservative members and 1independent member). Nominations of County Councillors to serve on the Committee have been submitted to the County Secretary and Solicitor by the respective political groups.



The County Councillors (13) appointed to serve on the committee for the following year are:

A Barnes	C Dereli
P Buckley	Dr M Hassan
Mrs S Charles	C Henig
A Cheetham	K Iddon
C Crompton	D Lord
B Dawson	S Perkins
M Perks	

The following co-opted members will serve on the Committee:

Voting Co-opted Members (5)

Miss T Jones – Representing RC Schools Mr F Kershaw - Representing CE Schools Mr K Wales - Representing Free Church Schools Mrs J Hamid - Representing Parent Governors (Secondary) Mr J Withington - Representing Parent Governors (Primary)

A copy of the Committee's Terms of Reference is attached at Appendix 'A'.

At the meeting on the 13 December 2012 the full Council agreed the following programme of meetings for the Committee in 2013/14.

16 July 2013 5 November 2013 16 January 2014(budget) 11 March 2014 **(2.00pm)** 

Meetings, apart from the meeting to be held on 11 March 2014, will be held at 10am in Cabinet Room 'C' at County Hall, Preston.

#### Consultations

N/A

#### Implications:

This item has the following implications, as indicated:

#### **Risk management**

There are no significant risks associated with this item.

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

<u>Paper</u> Agenda/Proceedings from Full County Council <u>Date</u> 13 December 2012 and 23 May 2013 <u>Contact/Directorate/Tel</u> Janet Mulligan, Office of the Chief Executive, 01772 533361

Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate  $\ensuremath{\mathsf{N/A}}$